Hack the MDN and Celebrate Firefox’s 10th Anniversary

Standard

Hi Friends,

Now I am back with blog post.

This was my first MDN event in my life. I am very glad that I have organized it successfully on 09 NOV 2014. This event was not only MDN event but also we had done our Firefox’s 10th Anniversary celebration in kolkata. Let me tell more about this event.

The agenda of this event :

  1. Brief discussion about MDN
  2. How to start hacking in MDN
  3. Intro to MDN glossary
  4. let’s hack on MDN glossary elements together
  5. Celebrate Firefox’s 10th Anniversary
  6. Lunch
  7. Continue hacking on MDN glossary element
  8. Group photo session and swag distribution

So, we have started this event at 11.00 am. Ohh ! sorry I forgot to tell one thing I have made one #MDNglossaryHackingKit for this event. So first I shared this kit with all the participants. Then started with “Brief discussion about MDN” and gave a description  about basic things of Hacking MDN. Now jumped into MDN glossary. In the mean time, there were some question & answer round between me and participants . So every participants excited to hack the glossary element . So we started hacking ……………

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First I taught them about “How to tag glossary item”. And then I came infront of them with the bunch of Glossary items which need to be tagged from missing tags  . And they completed almost 68 missing tags article within half an hour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then i jumped to teach them “How to improve the glossary article by editing” . They grabbed it very fast and started to contributing. Then we headed for lunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After lunch we again started with “How to write new glossary element”. Then we took prioritized missing glossary elements and started writing missing articles together from Here . And we completed the first draft of all these within  one and half an hour. Now those glossary elements are in review queue.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next part is celebration of Firefox’s 10th Anniversary. In this event basically, FSA joined.So they were very excited about #fx10 and #ChooseIndependent. We started with Photo sessions……….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then we cut the so yummy Cake for Firefox’s 10th Anniversary and enjoying a lot.

Then swag distribution happened among the participants and took some group pic.

As a Glossary mentor, this event was great for me. I am always feeling great as a Mozillian.  Special thanks goes to Mozilla MDN Community for supporting me to organize this event.

Though it’s long but I hope you enjoy it

One thought on “Hack the MDN and Celebrate Firefox’s 10th Anniversary

Leave a Reply

